by | Oct 21, 2014 | Press


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                   Karina Farah: (310) 619-7516

LA Femme International Film Festival Announces 2014 celebrity honorees Holly Wiersma, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Marion Ross, Madeline Zima, and Moran Atias; www.lafemme.org


Beverly Hills, CA -October 15, 2014, 10th Annual LA Femme International Film Festival (LAFIFF) announces the Celebrity Honorees for this year’s Awards Show and Gala event on October 19, 2014,(Red Carpet at 6:00pm; Show at 7pm), at the LA Film School in Hollywood. “We are excited to honor such inspiring women in the entertainment fields this year” said Ms LaPage (Founder / Director). The Awards Show is a celebration of the accomplishments of those celebrated artists and those emerging filmmakers that are seeking recognition for their works in the entertainment field.


LA Femme recognizes our 2014 honorees, Holly Wiersma (“Dallas Buyers Club”) receiving the Executive Achievement Award, Sheryl Lee Ralph(“Dreamgirls”) receiving the Lupe Ontiveros Image Award, Madeline Zima (“Californication”) receiving the Rising Star Award, Marion Ross (“Happy Days”) receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award,and Moran Atias (“The Next Three Days”) receiving the Humanitarian Award.


Holly Wiersma (Executive Achievement Award) began her career as a casting associate on “Blade” and “Rainmaker”, but independent filmmaking pulled her toward the new direction of Producing. She is known for “Wonderland”, “Down in the Valley”, “Bobby”, “Factory Girl”, “Stone”, and “The Son of No One”. “Dallas Buyers Club” garnered an Oscar for Best Actor in a Leading Role for Matthew McConaughey.


Ms. Wiersma completed “Return to Sender” a psychological thriller with Nick Nolte, and “She’s Funny That Way” a comedy with Jennifer Aniston.


Sheryl Lee Ralph(Lupe Ontiveros Image Award), originated the role of Deena Jones in “Dreamgirls” on Broadway (Tony Nominationand Drama Desk Award Nomination for Best Actress.).Sheryl started off on Broadway but was drawn to features and television where she has had numerous successful projects. Her portrayal of the loving step mom, Dee on the groundbreaking series “Moesha” , lead her to receive numerous NAACP Image Award nominations and embrace her leadership role as an entertainer, singer, and actress breaking ground against the stereotypical roles for women on television.


Sheryl Lee is currently starring in the Nickelodeon series “Instant Mom” and can be seen in “Ray Donovan”.  Sheryl Lee is a health advocate and honored AIDS activist, and the founding director of the DIVA (Divinely Inspired Victoriously Anointed) Foundation 501(C)3 which she created in memory of the many friends she has lost to HIV/AIDS.


Marion Ross (Life Time Achievement Award) is an Iconic American actress who has received multiple Emmy nominations for her portrayal of characters on television. She is best known for her role of Marion Cunningham on “Happy days” but she began her career at The Old Globe theatre.


Marion has acted in films such as: “The Glenn Miller Story”, “Secret of the Incas”, and “Sabrina”. Her TV credits include “Father Knows Best”, “Route 66”, “The Outer Limits”, “The Brady Bunch”, “The Love Boat”, “Night Court”, “Macguyver”. Marion’s role in “Brooklyn Bridge” as an iron-willed Jewish matriarch garnered her two Emmy nominations.


Madeline Zima (Rising Star Award) is best known for her breakout role as the provocative and saucy “Mia Lewis” on the hit Showtime series, “Californication”, but she has starred opposite Renée Zellweger and Forest Whitaker in “My Own Love Song” for director Olivier Dahan (LA VIE EN ROSE) and “Crazy Eyes”.


Moran Atias (Humanitarian Award) is an Israeli Actress who is a box office hit in Italy with projects like: “Gas”, “Oggi Sposi”, and “Mother of Tears”. Moran is also a world humanitarian and participated in the Artists for Justice and Peace volunteer mission with Sean Penn following the 2010 Haiti earthquake, in which she assisted the evacuation of refugees to Florida.


The Awards Show begins at 7pm (Red Carpet at 6pm) on October 19, 2014; LA Film School (6363, Los Angeles, CA 90028). Sandra Valls (Top 10 faces to watch in 2010 by Diva Magazine, Showtime’s “ The Latin Divas of Comedy”) will be Master of Ceremony Musical Artis, Maggie McClure (Recording Artist) will be performing along with the dance group the Show Off Girls choreographed by Nichole Le Shawn Woods.


LA Femme is a four day festival that screens over 100 films, special screenings, seminar, and networking mixers. The screening and event schedule for the festival is available online at www.lafemme.org ; Tickets on sale. Full Access VIP Passes are at $150 for Regular Price, tickets for individual films and special screenings are $10; and single seminars are $20.


Sponsors: SAG-AFTRA National Women’s Committee, (WGA) Writers Guild America West Women’s Committee, The Governor’s Office of Film and Entertainment State of Florida, The UPS Store Beverly Hills, Coppola Wine, Devotion Vodka, Dollhouse Makeup, Thinx, Alterna Haircare, Pez, Columbia College, Elle Même,Dr. Kaur’s Wellness Solutions, Bold For Men, Creative Handbooks, Physique 57, Final Draft, Hallie’s Comet, Moresco Designs, Episencial, B Leaf Botanics, Nuxe, Supergoop, Epsom Salt Council, Mix-Clothing, Bora-Bora Handbags, Carde Blanche, Olivia’s Oasis Products, My Beving, The Industry Edge, Wash With Joe, Ali Levine Celebrity Stylist, Just Chill, Julep, Cosmepro-Jessica Dufour, Mother Plucker Feather Company, Kelly Anne, LA Grip Productions, Latin Heat Media Institute, Edoughble, Lounge Party Rentals, Mark Us Bold Catering, Mèreadesso, Continental Club, LA Film School, Cinch to Hang, Carmex, Blue Eyed Entertainment, AYDA & Co, Spear Steak & Seafood House, Univision, Waiakea, and Wink.


Media Inquiries: To register press credentials or schedule an interview with Leslie LaPage, contact Karina Farah (310) 619-7516 or email llapage@lafemme.org


Visit the website at www.lafemme.org